word play

Standard

My english learning fourth graders are currently describing the world around them! Making lists, creating sentences, and playing with adjectives, comparatives, and superlatives fill our days.

They will tell you that the adjective is the base word, a comparative needs to add “-er than” so that we can compare two things; and a a superlative is the SUPER word, so it needs to add “-est” (because it’s the best) plus the important THE.

Good, better, the best.
Tall, taller than, the tallest.
Blue, bluer than, the bluest.

But the most important question, from an ever inquiring ten year old:
Teacher, can we use these for people? Gabi is gabier than Sara. Gabi is the gabbiest.

(English speakers: maybe using Gabi isn’t the best example. Although Gabi really is gabby – so it works.)

At first, I laughed. “Haha, no”.

But then it made me think:

What if I was the best me, instead of trying to be better than someone else? Instead of comparing myself with others?

If I just chose to be the ashleighest Ashleigh?

After all, it’s impossible for me to be anner than Ann, or bobber than Bob. I’m not Ann, I’m not Bob.

Doesn’t it only make sense for me to be the ashleighest Ashleigh?

How do you attempt to be the youiest you?

drseussquote green

(image via karen denten)

Leave a comment