doorway to the soul

Standard

Language is a doorway to the soul.

Learning a language builds vulnerability. Vulnerability is key in connecting, in growing, in building, in finding beauty.

The world sees the public, social-media posted, photogenic moments.

But the small moments, the intentional decisions, those are the life-defining threads. They are were you shine. And in the same existence, where you are nothing, because you give yourself to others, and life your hands to the mountains, envisioning greatness.

Ten days into the new year, and I’ve been called to this moment-by-moment living.

Until this point, my young and adventurous spirit always had a plan. Education, travel, community.

When I have been asked to speculate what this new year holds, honestly, I come up a bit blank. Yes, there are things I still want, places I’d still like to go, people I miss having around constantly, passions I daily peruse. But on a big scale, thing seem a bit vague.

And the last six months pierced my soul in an inexplicable way.

But even amongst struggle, one thing reigns true above all else. Connecting with people on a deep and personal level is the most important thing you will do with all of your days.

This year, make an intentional decision to connect.

Learn a new language in 2014, and open the doorway of your soul. It will change you. It will build character, and carry hope.

Confident hope; Climbing a mountain, top of the peak hope.

Leave a comment