kites

Standard

“Las cometas se vuelan porque están atadas.”

Kites fly, only because they are tied to something.

Last June, my mind swirled, considering what the next few months might unveil, already grieving the distance between places and people I loved that was to come, yet eager to be reunited for family.

I was blessed to have many friends who were giving me words of wisdom. During this moment I wrote the above quote in my new journal, meant to start brainstorming the journey ahead. A little over 7 months later, after some rest, and many tears, fighting my current juxtaposed new and old life, I find myself ready to begin a new journey, wherever it might lead, here or there, near or far.

And it is these little words of wisdom from connections with others, that guide us, and carry us.

Taking this Valentine morning, to reread my thoughts, and reconnect with my passions and my realized purposes and convictions, I am thankful for love as the foundation of existence. Through love, I was wonderfully created. Through love, I survived each day. Through loved, life has become so much more than survival, but a true journey of deep connection.

How have you seen love in this last year? How do you plan to show love in the year that follows?

[Excerpt below from my personal journals]

Kites have freedom to fly and explore and venture out into fightening winds and incredible heights, only because they are tired down to a base, something that guides them, supports them, and holds them tight, assuring them that the terrible wind doesnt carry them away, or rip them to shreds. [June 14, 2013]

whale kite

(via DannielleVGreen)

Leave a comment