witness

Standard

8:21pm 03/29/2015 exactly one week ago: sitting with 18 other people inside a single hotel room sharing life

8:21pm 04/05/2015 currently: eating chips and salsa at the kitchen table, preparing for the week of teaching ahead

The contrast is enough to be overwhelmed and terrified, or bored and unsettled.

There are an incredible amount of things to say, to speak to, to debrief, so many questions to ask. Many things within me are brewing.

But above all the anxieties, one truth remains. One truth that presented and presents itself constantly.

The Spirit of the living God is here and active.

I believe this because I am a witness.

I translated love letters and heartfelt goodbyes. I watched growing depth in friendships and relationships, despite language barriers.

I held hands and saw hugs, comforting the family of a woman on her deathbed. I experienced emotional understanding at the core of our humanity, despite contrast of life circumstances.

I heard joy as water was carried from the source to the homes of an entire community, for the first time. I watched a seemingly impossible task become a beautiful reality.

I watched grown men cry, and laugh hearty laughs. I saw the weakness of humanity become a strength as we worked alongside one another.

The Spirit is strength. Strength which overpowers not only evil, but apathy, and lack of hope.

This is truth. This is hope. And I am so very joyful to be in this space. Join me.

“Therefore, since we have such a hope, we are very bold.” 1 Corinthians 3:12

Displaying IMG_0388.JPG

Displaying IMG_0126.JPG

One response »

  1. Just beautiful Ash! Thank you for sharing these heartfelt words. The Spirit of God is here and active and what a joy it is to witness it happening! Carrying this with me today.

    Susanna Kidwell Connect3Ministries

    >

Leave a comment