Unshaken

Standard

I’ve never been one to read or recommend a romance novel of any kind, whether literarily praised or trashy novella. I love my mother, but I’ve always asked her why she would read such nonsense when there is a plethora academically-claimed non-fiction, and artistically-created literature. I mean, when I was little, I would walk into the library and cry, ball my eyes out, because I saw the amount of books, and new I would never in my whole entire lifespan be able to read every book on every shelf. And I wanted to read every single one. Fortunately, with some great mentors, a lot of travel, and some education under my belt, I have matured into a woman who understands that there is a lot of junk out there that shouldn’t ever be read, by anyone. And a lot of things I have no interest in. But, I digress.

The point is that I read a romance novel. A Christian romance novel, nonetheless, which I usually find even more over-the-top, more far-fetched than your typical sex-centered, steamy Harlequin.

And guess what? I not only liked it, I loved it. I read it within the span of two hours in the morning, two-hour delay, fake out snow day, and two hours after dinner in the evening.

It’s called Unshaken by Francine Rivers (and, no, I’ve never read Redeeming Love, swore I never would, perhaps I’ll rethink it, with a really good review because someone just gave me a really good review). Historical Non-Fiction, it is one of five novellas that she has written recounting the unconventional love stories of women in the lineage of Christ. Unshaken details the life of Ruth, her original story being four short, yet richly built, chapters in the self-titled book of the Old Testament.

Alongside her mother-in-law Naomi, both of these widowed women experience extensive grief, a treacherous journey, the pangs of hunger, working to survive physically and emotionally in a foreign culture and land, and consistently seeking God, all at once seeing his blessings, yet doubting his presence, and questioning how and when he will deliver them from their struggle to survive and thrive.

Ruth consistently devotes her life to the needs of her mother-in-law, but in Unshaken we have a glimpse into her personal life of prayer, reaching out to God. Thanking him. Questioning him. Needing discipline to do whatever it takes to provide. Yet desiring so much what any young person desires. Love. Family. A way to make a worthy living. A clean name, to be respected. How to balance taking care of others and become a hopeful character of perseverance. And despite our humanly limited perspective, that our creator can sort it all out.

“In the confusion of her feelings, [she] could not be sure about her motives. She knew only that the Lord could sort it out and make things right”.

Without spoiling the entire story, for those who are not familiar, we end knowing that Ruth becomes the mother of Obed, who is the father of Jesse, who is the father of David, one of the greatest kings to have ever lived.

Moving beyond what we read in Unshaken, David is both a strong warrior and a deep thinker, as writer of the Psalms, all at once praising his Creator, and asking the wretchedly agonizing questions of our existence. He had so incredibly much to offer. Yet his misled actions could have been completely debilitating and paralyzing, were it not for the redemption of a Creator, who uses not only powerful people, like kings, but also seemingly small people, like the Unshaken widows, Ruth and Naomi.

Leave a comment